In this article

Kooky
Builder of Shaka, the payment router that pays every agent their commission on closing date.
About Kooky and Shaka →Alabama, South Carolina and Kentucky all license auctioneers, and each gives the job to a state board or commission. Beyond that, the three rulebooks part company quickly: on who may train a newcomer, and on what stands behind a seller whose money goes missing.
Alabama asks every applicant for a bond and has no recovery fund. South Carolina has a recovery fund and no general bond. Kentucky makes almost everyone start as an apprentice and renews licences every two years rather than every year. The question that matters most to anyone selling land or houses, whether an auctioneer's licence is enough to auction real estate, is answered in Alabama and Kentucky and left open by the South Carolina chapter.
This guide sets out what the primary sources say for each of the three: the South Carolina Code of Laws, Title 40, Chapter 6; the Alabama State Board of Auctioneers' own published answers on its licensing law; and for Kentucky, Chapter 330 of the Kentucky Revised Statutes, the Kentucky Board of Auctioneers' examination study guide updated on 30 March 2026, and the board's fee regulation. Where those pages are silent, the guide says so.
Alabama State Board of Auctioneers; South Carolina Code section 40-6-360; Kentucky regulation 831 KAR 1:010, as read on 10 October 2026.
Three regulators
South Carolina's section 40-6-10 creates the Auctioneers' Commission: five members appointed by the Governor for three-year terms, of whom at least three must be licensed, active auctioneers and at least one must have no connection to the auction business. The commission sits within the state's Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation, which lists three licence types: apprentice auctioneer, auctioneer and auction firm.
Related readCalling bids in North Carolina, Georgia and Ohio: the licence rulesKentucky's board, under KRS 330.050 as the study guide summarises it, also has five members appointed by the Governor. Four are auctioneers with at least five years in the vocation and one is a citizen at large. Terms run three years, and no member may serve more than six consecutive years.
In Alabama the regulator is the State Board of Auctioneers. Its home page describes its role in one line: the office issues licences to those who sell items at auction. Nobody needs a licence to attend one. The pages read for this guide do not give the Alabama board's composition.
Who needs a licence
The trigger differs in wording, and the wording matters.
South Carolina defines an auction in section 40-6-20 as the sale of goods or real estate by means of exchanges between an auctioneer and a member of an audience. An auctioneer is a person who conducts or offers to conduct auctions, and the definition expressly includes apprentice auctioneers. Section 40-6-250 then bars anyone from selling or offering to sell goods or real estate at auction without a currently valid licence, unless an exemption applies. A business entity that conducts or offers to conduct auctions is an auction firm and is licensed as one.
Alabama ties the licence to payment. According to the board, citing sections 34-4-2 and 34-4-20 of the Code of Alabama, a licence is required for anyone who calls bids for compensation at auction, or who offers or negotiates the listing, sale, purchase or exchange of property at auction for compensation. A corporation, limited liability company or partnership in the auction business applies for a company licence and designates a principal auctioneer, who is responsible for its staff. The board adds that conducting online auctions of goods that are not one's own also needs its licence, and its 2026 renewal forms include a separate one for online auction firms.
Related readUSA: how HUD, Freddie Mac and IRS homes are sold by bid or auctionKentucky draws the widest circle. Its definition of an auction, in KRS 330.020, covers any method of sale, lease or exchange of real or personal property by competitively increasing or decreasing bids. Under KRS 330.030 a board licence is needed to advertise or act as an auctioneer or apprentice in Kentucky, and also to do so in respect of real or personal property located in Kentucky. The state licenses two further groups: limited livestock auctioneers, and auction house operators, with each auction house location needing its own licence.
Sales that fall outside the licence
All three states leave certain sales alone, and the lists overlap without matching.
South Carolina's section 40-6-370 exempts an owner's sale of his or her own goods, unless auctions are part of the owner's regular business or the goods were bought for resale. It also exempts auctions by or under a public authority, auctions under a judicial order, sales the law requires to be held by auction, sales by a trustee under a valid power of sale, and charity, civic or religious auctions where the seller receives no compensation. Several of these exemptions fall away when the sale is run by a professional auction business or a licensed person. Motor vehicle auctions among dealers are exempt only if a licensed auctioneer conducts them.
Alabama's board lists, from sections 34-4-3 and 34-4-27, charity auctions where the auctioneer is not paid, owners auctioning their own property, estate sales for a decedent, sales under mortgages, deeds of trust, judgments or court orders, and sales by receivers, bankruptcy trustees, guardians, administrators and executors.
Related readVictoria's auction rulebook: vendor bids, co-owners and dummy biddingKentucky's KRS 330.040 is the most tightly drawn. The owner exemption covers individuals selling property they personally own and did not acquire for resale; it does not extend to entities. A political party, church or charity is exempt only if the seller receives no compensation, the property is donated rather than consigned, and 100 per cent of net proceeds go to the organisation. A student may call no more than 20 lots in 24 hours. Sales by or under a public authority, a judicial order or a legal requirement, and certain youth and university livestock sales, are also on the list.
The apprentice route in each state
The three states treat apprenticeship as, respectively, one of two doors, the usual door and the only door.
In South Carolina an apprentice must be at least 18, pass the commission's examination and name a licensed auctioneer as supervisor on the application, under section 40-6-220. The apprentice may not conduct an auction or enter an auction agreement without the supervisor's express written approval, and the supervisor must review the apprentice's records at regular intervals. An apprentice licence may be renewed once. But apprenticeship is optional: section 40-6-230 lets an applicant for the full licence show either one year as an apprentice or 80 hours of classroom instruction at a commission-approved institution.
Alabama asks for both school and service. The board states that an apprentice must be at least 18 and work under a licensed auctioneer at all times. The sponsor, under Rule 150-X-1-.10, must have held a licence for at least two years, be in good standing and live in the same state as the apprentice. To move up, the applicant must be at least 19, have at least 85 classroom hours, have served at least one year under a licensed Alabama auctioneer and have acted as principal auctioneer in at least five auctions of real or personal property during that year. Without an accredited auction school the route doubles: two years as an apprentice and ten auctions.
Related readWestern Australia's auctioneer licence: magistrates, classes and bidsKentucky requires an apprentice licence first. The applicant must be 18 with a high school diploma or equivalent, complete at least 12 hours of approved instruction and pass the examination, and may be sponsored by only one principal auctioneer at a time. An apprentice has no authority to sign an auction listing contract or to keep an escrow account independently. KRS 330.070 then sets the step up, shown below.
- Apprentice licenceAge 18, 12 hours of approved instruction, a pass in the apprentice examination and one sponsoring principal.
- One year in KentuckyThe apprenticeship is served in the state under the sponsor's supervision.
- Ten auctionsThe principal signs a statement of active and material participation in at least ten.
- 80 classroom hoursClassroom instruction, which the statute allows to be waived.
- Auctioneer examinationRequired of apprentices first licensed before 30 June 2010 or after 1 July 2015.
If a Kentucky apprentice and principal part ways, the apprentice has 30 days to affiliate with a new one.
Classroom hours and the examination
The classroom figures sit close together: 85 hours in Alabama, 80 in South Carolina for those who skip the apprenticeship, and 80 in Kentucky on top of the apprentice's 12.
South Carolina's examination covers auction law, ethics and auction-related mathematics. A candidate who fails twice must wait six months before trying again. Applicants also supply a criminal history record from the State Law Enforcement Division, affirm that they have no felony or fraud conviction in the preceding five years, and provide a credit record, for which the statute sets a fee of US$10.
In Alabama the board says the examination is given daily by a testing vendor, and the US$100 fee is paid to the vendor.
Kentucky publishes its pass marks: 75 points out of 100 for the auctioneer and apprentice examinations, and 60 out of 100 for auction house operators and limited livestock auctioneers. A successful candidate must apply for the licence within 45 days of being told of the pass. The fee regulation asks for a national background check from the Federal Bureau of Investigation completed within the 60 days before the application is lodged.
Related readPutting a Dubai property up for auction: organisers, files and payout| Requirement | Alabama | South Carolina | Kentucky |
|---|---|---|---|
| Minimum age | 19 | 18 | 18 for the apprentice licence |
| Apprenticeship | 1 year, or 2 without school | 1 year, or school instead | 1 year, in Kentucky |
| Auctions worked | 5, or 10 without school | Not stated | 10 |
| Classroom hours | 85 | 80, if no apprenticeship | 12, then 80 |
Alabama State Board of Auctioneers; South Carolina Code sections 40-6-220 and 40-6-230; KRS 330.060 and 330.070.
What the licence costs
Alabama's board publishes a full schedule. A criminal history request costs US$20 for every licence type. The apprentice licence is US$100 to obtain and US$100 to renew. The auctioneer licence is US$200 and US$200, and the auction company licence the same. A company owned and operated exclusively by a licensed auctioneer still files the company application but pays no fee. Auctioneers may also owe a US$25 county licence in each county where they sell, under section 34-4-27, while section 34-4-6 stops municipalities from requiring a business licence of a licensed auctioneer.
A worked example, on these published figures: an Alabama resident applying for the auctioneer licence by examination pays US$20 for the criminal history request, US$100 to the examination vendor and US$200 for the licence, a total of US$320. The cost of the bond described below, the county licences and tuition are not included, and the example assumes one examination sitting.
Kentucky has two sources, and they carry different dates. The amounts are in regulation 831 KAR 1:010, whose history shows a most recent effective date of 6 September 2019. The legislature's page for the regulation, as re-read on 10 October 2026, shows a seven-year expiration date of 6 September 2026, a history entry dated 20 May 2026 and an amendment due by 20 November 2027; it does not say in plain words whether the regulation is in force today. The figures below are therefore those of the 2019 text, not confirmed as current. The examination fee is US$125, the initial licence US$125 and the renewal US$125, with a further US$125 for a renewal made late. A recovery fee of US$30 accompanies each licence application. A worked example: the examination and first licence together come to US$125 plus US$125 plus US$30, or US$280, before the background check and tuition. All fees are non-refundable. The statute sets ceilings above these amounts: KRS 330.070 caps the initial fee at US$150 and the biennial renewal fee at US$300. The statute, in the version effective 15 July 2024, is the later of the two sources. The regulation predates it and does not say whether its US$125 renewal is charged per year or per two-year cycle, so neither the renewal amount nor the regulation's present status is settled by the pages read.
Related readHow Dubai property auctions are licensed, supervised and paid forSouth Carolina's statute contains few amounts. Section 40-6-50 leaves the annual licence fee and examination fees to commission regulation, and the commission's overview page lists none. The figures in the Code itself are the US$10 credit record fee and the recovery fund contribution, which may not exceed US$50 a year.
Bond in Alabama, recovery funds elsewhere
Here the three states differ in kind.
Alabama relies on a bond. The board states that a US$10,000 bond is required with each auctioneer or apprentice application, in cash or as a surety bond, payable to the board, and that no licence is issued until it is filed. Asked whether there is a recovery fund, the board's answer is that there is none.
South Carolina does the reverse. Its chapter has no general bond requirement and instead sets up the Auctioneer Recovery Fund in sections 40-6-330 to 40-6-360. The fund must hold at least US$100,000, and contributions are triggered when it falls below US$45,000 at the end of a fiscal year. Purebred livestock and tobacco auctioneers do not contribute.
A claim on the South Carolina fund follows a fixed path. It must rest on a specific violation of the chapter or its regulations. The claimant must first have sent the licensee a demand for actual damages by certified mail and been refused or ignored, must not hold a licence under the chapter, and must file a sworn claim within one year of discovering the loss. The licensee has 30 days to answer, and the commission may investigate for up to 60 days.
Related readHow to become an accredited auctioneer in New South WalesPayment is limited to actual damages, up to US$10,000 per transaction and US$20,000 in aggregate against one licensee in a calendar year. As a worked example, a seller with a proven loss of US$14,000 on one transaction could receive US$10,000 at most, leaving US$4,000 outside the fund. For the licensee the consequence is direct: once the fund pays, the licence is suspended or revoked, and reinstatement requires repayment with interest at 8 per cent a year. On US$10,000 repaid after exactly one year, that is US$800 of interest, or US$10,800.
Kentucky has a recovery fund too. The 2019 fee regulation sets a recovery fee of US$30 per licence per year. The study guide and the fee regulation do not give the fund's claim limits, which are an open point here.
| Safeguard | Alabama | South Carolina | Kentucky |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bond | US$10,000 per applicant | No general bond | None in the pages read |
| Recovery fund | None | US$10,000 per transaction | Yes, limits not read |
| Funds of others | Escrow bank and account disclosed | Trust account, 3 business days | Separate escrow account |
| Settlement | Not stated | Within 30 days at most | Within 30 days of sale |
Alabama State Board of Auctioneers; South Carolina Code sections 40-6-110, 40-6-300 and 40-6-360; KRS 330.030 and the Kentucky board's study guide.
Renewal and continuing education
The calendars do not line up, which matters to anyone licensed in more than one of the three.
Alabama licences all expire on 30 September each year. A lapsed licence can be renewed for 60 days, through 30 November, on payment of the fee plus a late fee of US$25 for apprentices or US$50 for auctioneers. After that the person must reapply and sit the examination again. Continuing education is six approved hours every two years, with extra hours carried forward, and auctioneers aged 65 or older are exempt.
South Carolina licences run to 30 June and renew annually under section 40-6-240. An auctioneer must show at least four commission-approved hours of continuing education in the previous 12 months; apprentices are exempt. No examination is required if the renewal is filed within 90 days of expiry.
Related readWho may conduct a property auction in Singapore, and under what rulesKentucky licences expire on 30 June of each even-numbered year. Renewal within six months after expiry carries a late fee. KRS 330.070 lets the board require up to ten hours of continuing education per licence year, plus a six-hour core course once every four years, from which licensees with at least 25 years of continuous licensure are exempt. The 2019 fee regulation sets a continuing education deadline of 31 May and a US$300 fee for missing it. The statute also lets a licence be placed in escrow.
Arriving with a licence from another state
Each state will recognise an outside licence, on conditions.
South Carolina's section 40-6-270 allows it where the other state's requirements were substantially equivalent to South Carolina's on the date the applicant was first licensed. The licence issued runs to the next 30 June.
Alabama grants reciprocity only where the other state's standards equal or exceed its own and that state's board has a reciprocity agreement with Alabama. The applicant supplies a certificate of good standing and pays US$150, or more if the home state charges Alabama residents more. A non-resident from a state without an agreement must instead prove five years of activity as an auctioneer before applying. The board also describes a single one-day sale permit for an out-of-state business.
Kentucky's KRS 330.095 requires a valid reciprocal agreement, and substantially equivalent requirements. The applicant files an irrevocable consent to service along with licence and examination verification, and pays the greater of the home state's fees or Kentucky's fees for non-reciprocal licensees. None of the pages read for this guide lists the partner states by name; Alabama's board refers to a list dated February 2015.
Related readSingapore mortgagee sales and Sheriff's sales: how the auctions workAuctioning real estate
All three laws reach real property. Two of them demand a second licence; the South Carolina chapter does not settle the point.
Alabama and Kentucky require a broker's licence to auction real estate
Alabama's board says an auctioneer licence and a broker's licence are both needed. Kentucky's KRS 330.032 bars an auctioneer from selling real estate at auction without a broker licence, and a broker from doing so without an auctioneer licence.
Kentucky leaves room for teamwork. An auctioneer and a broker may collaborate on a sale, each paid for services rendered in his or her own capacity, and a real estate auction listing contract must be signed either by one person holding both licences or by an auctioneer and a broker together.
South Carolina's chapter writes real estate into the definition of an auction and into the licence requirement, so selling real estate at auction needs an auctioneer licence. It also gives real estate firms one concession: under section 40-6-235, licensed brokers-in-charge and real estate firms need no auction firm licence if they employ a licensed auctioneer for the auction-specific parts of a transaction. The chapter does not say whether the auctioneer needs a real estate licence too; that question belongs to the state's real estate licensing law, which was not read for this guide.
Contracts, records and penalties
The day-to-day duties are where a seller meets these laws.
In South Carolina a written contract is required before an auction, except at an auction house open to public consignment. The owner receives a signed copy and the licensee keeps one for three years. Trust account records are kept for at least three years and may be inspected without notice. Advertising an auction as absolute is unlawful if minimum bids or other limiting conditions apply. A violation of the chapter is a misdemeanour carrying up to one year in prison or a fine of up to US$1,000, and the commission may fine up to US$5,000 per violation, capped at US$10,000 in total.
Kentucky requires a written listing contract signed before any advertising. Records are kept at least five years from final settlement and delivered to the board within 30 days of a request. Every advertisement names the managing auctioneer, and any buyer's premium is disclosed. The board may suspend a licence for up to five years, revoke it, or fine up to US$2,000 per incident and US$5,000 a year.
Alabama's Rule 150-X-1-.03 requires auction advertising to carry the auctioneer's name and licence number. A change of address costs US$5, and the board says failure to notify it cancels the licence. The board also states that the Act and Rules control over its published answers.
A bond in Alabama, a fund in South Carolina, an apprenticeship first in Kentucky: the same trade, licensed three ways.