In this article

Kooky
Builder of Shaka, the payment router that pays every agent their commission on closing date.
About Kooky and Shaka →A commission cheque in the United States arrives whole. Nothing has been taken out of it for federal income tax, for social security or for Medicare, and nobody at the brokerage has worked out what the agent will owe on it. That is the direct result of one federal rule, which treats a licensed real estate agent who meets two conditions as self-employed for every federal tax purpose. Everything else follows from it: the form the brokerage sends in January, the tax that replaces the payroll deductions an employee never sees, the payments due four times a year, the expenses that come off the top and the deduction that can shelter part of what is left.
This guide follows that chain in order, using the Internal Revenue Service's own pages, publications and form instructions. Every figure is given with the tax year it belongs to, because several of them changed between 2025 and 2026. It covers federal tax only. State income tax is a separate matter that these sources do not address, and how the commission itself is negotiated, offered and split is a different subject from how it is taxed once received.
Internal Revenue Service: self-employment tax page, instructions for Form 1099-NEC, qualified business income deduction page.
The rule that makes an agent self-employed
For most workers in the United States, the question of whether someone is an employee or an independent contractor is settled by looking at the facts of the working relationship. Real estate is a trade where the tax rules short-circuit that exercise. The IRS lists three categories of what it calls statutory nonemployees: direct sellers, licensed real estate agents and certain companion sitters. For licensed real estate agents, the IRS says they are treated as self-employed for all federal tax purposes, including income and employment taxes, when two conditions are met.
Related readHow a Broker's Commission Is Set, Earned and Paid in DubaiThe first condition is about how the agent is paid. Substantially all payments for the agent's services must be directly related to sales or other output, rather than to the number of hours worked. A commission on a closed sale is the plainest case of output-based pay. An hourly wage or a salary for time spent in the office is the opposite.
The second condition is about paper. The services must be performed under a written contract which provides that the agent will not be treated as an employee for federal tax purposes. An understanding, a handshake or a long-standing habit does not meet the wording the IRS uses: the contract is written, and it says this specific thing.
Read together with the word "licensed", that gives three tests an agent's position has to pass: the person holds a real estate licence, the pay follows output, and a written contract says there is no employment for federal tax purposes. The IRS pages present the last two as the conditions and the licence as the starting point. Publication 15-A for 2026, the IRS's supplemental guide for employers, adds that the category also takes in individuals engaged in appraisal activities for real estate sales, if they earn income based on sales or other output. Neither the IRS page for licensed real estate agents, last reviewed on 10 February 2026, nor the other pages read for this guide cites the section of the Internal Revenue Code behind the rule.
Without a written contract, the special rule does not apply
The IRS wording requires a written contract providing that the agent will not be treated as an employee for federal tax purposes. Where either condition is missing, the agent's status goes back to the general test of who controls the work.
When the conditions are not met
The rule is a shortcut, not a guarantee. An agent paid mainly by the hour, or one working with no written contract of the kind described, is outside the statutory category. That does not automatically make the person an employee. It means the question is answered the way it is for any other worker, under what Publication 15-A calls the common-law rules.
Related readWhat Dubai's brokers earn: published totals and the sums per brokerThe publication groups the relevant facts into three categories. Behavioural control asks whether the business has the right to direct how the work is done, including through instructions and training. Financial control asks whether the business controls the business side of the job: who bears unreimbursed expenses, how much the worker has invested, how the worker is paid and whether the worker can make a profit or a loss. The type of relationship covers what the parties intended and arranged, such as written contracts, employee-type benefits, how permanent the relationship is and whether the services are a key aspect of the business.
Where the answer is unclear, Publication 15-A says that a business wanting the IRS to determine whether a worker is an employee can file Form SS-8. The publication is also direct about the consequence of getting it wrong: a business that classifies an employee as an independent contractor without a reasonable basis is liable for employment taxes for that worker, and the relief provision the publication describes does not apply.
A sole proprietor by default
The IRS page for licensed real estate agents notes that most real estate professionals operate as sole proprietorships. It explains the term by what it is not: the person is not someone's employee, has not joined a partnership and has not incorporated. No registration creates that status for federal tax. It is simply what an individual in business alone is.
Publication 334, the IRS's Tax Guide for Small Business, whose current edition is for preparing 2025 returns, sets out what follows. A person is self-employed when carrying on a trade or business as a sole proprietor or an independent contractor. The net profit or loss of each sole proprietorship is worked out on Schedule C of Form 1040, with a separate schedule for each business, and carried to Schedule 1 of the same return. The publication adds that a limited liability company with a single member is generally disregarded for income tax purposes, so that its owner reports on Schedule C in the same way.
Related readFlorida commission law: escrow disputes, referral fees and lien actsForm 1099-NEC: how the commission is reported
A brokerage that pays an agent who is not its employee reports the year's payments to the IRS and to the agent on Form 1099-NEC, the form for nonemployee compensation. The IRS instructions for the form list four conditions that, taken together, require a payment to be reported in its first box. The payer made the payment to someone who is not its employee. The payment was for services in the course of the payer's trade or business. The payee is an individual, a partnership or an estate, or in some cases a corporation. And the payments to that payee reached the threshold during the year.
That threshold is the figure that changed. The instructions put it at US$2,000 or more for tax years beginning after 2025, and say that the amount may be adjusted for inflation starting in 2027. Publication 334 confirms the timing from the other side: for reportable payments made after 2025, the reporting threshold for certain payees rises to US$2,000.
A worked example: assume a brokerage pays one agent a single referral fee of US$1,800 in 2026 and nothing else, and pays another agent commissions of US$84,000. The first payment is below US$2,000, the fourth condition is not met and the form is not required for it. The second is reported. The threshold belongs to the payer's reporting duty; the agent's own duty to file for self-employment tax is set by a separate figure, US$400 of net earnings, covered below.
The deadline is early. The instructions require the form to be furnished to the recipient and filed with the IRS by 31 January, and Publication 334 notes that this date holds even when the form is filed electronically.
Related readHow an agent's commission is set and earned in New South WalesThree further points in the instructions concern the trade directly:
- Payments to corporations are generally exempt from this reporting, though the instructions say that exemption does not apply to payments for legal services.
- Payments made by credit or payment card, and certain third-party network payments, are reported on Form 1099-K by the payment settlement entity, not on Form 1099-NEC.
- Rent that passes through a real estate agent or property manager is not reported on Form 1099-NEC: the agent reports the rent paid over to the owner on Form 1099-MISC.
Self-employment tax on net commission
An employee shares social security and Medicare contributions with an employer. A self-employed person pays both shares through self-employment tax. The IRS page on the subject gives the rate as 15.3 per cent, made of 12.4 per cent for social security and 2.9 per cent for Medicare.
The two parts behave differently. The social security part stops at an annual ceiling. The Medicare part, Publication 334 says, has no maximum. The ceiling moves each year, and the IRS sources give three values: US$168,600 for 2024, US$176,100 for 2025 and US$184,500 for 2026. Publication 334 describes it as a maximum of combined wages, tips and net earnings, which matters to an agent who also held a salaried job during the year: the ceiling is shared between the two kinds of income, not granted twice.
| Figure | 2025 | 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Earnings subject to the social security part | US$176,100 | US$184,500 |
| Standard mileage rate, per business mile | 70 cents | 72.5 cents |
| Self-employment tax rate | 15.3% | 15.3% |
IRS Publication 334 (2025), instructions for Schedule SE (2025), self-employment tax page. The self-employment tax page gives the rate without tying it to a year.
A worked example, on the ceiling alone: the most that the 12.4 per cent social security part can come to is 12.4 per cent of the ceiling. For 2025 that is 12.4 per cent of US$176,100, or US$21,836.40. For 2026 it is 12.4 per cent of US$184,500, or US$22,878.00, which is US$1,041.60 more. An agent whose net earnings are below the ceiling pays the social security part on a smaller base and never meets it. The exact base is worked out on Schedule SE. The pages read for this guide do not set out that computation, so no full computation of the tax is attempted here.
Who has to file is a matter of a small number. Publication 334 says a person must pay self-employment tax and file Schedule SE with Form 1040 if net earnings from self-employment are US$400 or more. The instructions for Schedule SE for 2025 add that each spouse with self-employment income files a separate schedule. The IRS page also notes that paying the tax requires a social security number or an individual taxpayer identification number.
Related readNew York City's FARE Act: who pays the rental broker, and state rulesThere is one piece of relief built in. The IRS page says the employer-equivalent portion of self-employment tax can be deducted in working out adjusted gross income. It is careful about the limit of that deduction: it affects income tax only, and changes neither net earnings from self-employment nor the self-employment tax itself.
The extra 0.9 per cent on higher earnings
Above certain levels a further charge applies. The Additional Medicare Tax is 0.9 per cent, and the 2025 instructions for Schedule SE give the thresholds by filing status: US$250,000 for a married couple filing jointly, US$125,000 for a married person filing separately, and US$200,000 for a single filer, a head of household or a qualifying surviving spouse. It is worked out on Form 8959.
A worked example with no wages: assume a single agent whose self-employment income, as carried from Schedule SE, is US$260,000 and who has no salaried income. The threshold is US$200,000, the excess is US$60,000, and 0.9 per cent of US$60,000 is US$540.
Wages change the sum. The instructions say that, for this tax, the self-employment threshold is reduced, though not below zero, by wages that are themselves subject to it. A second worked example: assume a married couple filing jointly, where one spouse has wages of US$150,000 and the other is an agent with self-employment income of US$130,000. The joint threshold of US$250,000 is reduced by the US$150,000 of wages to US$100,000. The agent's US$130,000 exceeds that by US$30,000, and 0.9 per cent of US$30,000 is US$270.
Paying through the year: estimated tax
With no employer withholding, the tax system collects from the self-employed in instalments. The IRS page on estimated taxes says that individuals, sole proprietors included, generally must make estimated payments if they expect to owe US$1,000 or more when their return is filed. Publication 334 specifies that self-employment tax is part of that expected amount, so the US$1,000 line is reached on income tax and self-employment tax together.
Related readSingapore Property Agent Commission: Who Pays and the One-Side RuleThe vehicle is Form 1040-ES, which contains a worksheet. The IRS describes the method as an estimate of the year's expected adjusted gross income, taxable income, taxes, deductions and credits, for which the previous year's return can serve as a starting point, and which is worked again on a fresh worksheet if the estimate changes. The year is divided into four payment periods. Publication 334 gives the due dates as the 15th day of the 4th, 6th and 9th months of the tax year, and the 15th day of the 1st month after the year ends. For an agent whose tax year is the calendar year, that places them in April, June, September and the following January.
- 15 AprilFirst estimated payment: the 15th day of the 4th month of the tax year.
- 15 JuneSecond payment: the 15th day of the 6th month, only two months after the first.
- 15 SeptemberThird payment: the 15th day of the 9th month.
- 15 JanuaryFourth payment: the 15th day of the 1st month after the year ends.
- 31 JanuaryForm 1099-NEC for the year just ended is due to the agent and to the IRS.
Two timing rules soften the dates. When a due date falls on a Saturday, a Sunday or a legal holiday, the IRS treats a payment as on time if it is made on the next day that is none of those. For a payment sent by post, the date of the United States postmark counts as the date of payment. Payments can be made by mail with Form 1040-ES, online, by phone or through the IRS mobile application. The IRS adds that nothing forces four lump sums: a taxpayer may pay weekly, every two weeks or monthly, provided enough has been paid by the end of each quarter. That suits an income which arrives closing by closing.
Some people are outside the requirement altogether. According to the IRS page, no estimated tax is due for the current year when three things are all true: the person had no tax liability for the previous year, was a United States citizen or resident alien for the whole of that year, and that previous tax year covered twelve months.
Related readSingapore agency accounts: where each commission dollar goesThe underpayment penalty and its safe harbours
Paying too little during the year can bring a penalty even when the full amount is settled with the return. The IRS page describes the routes that avoid it. Most taxpayers escape the penalty if they owe less than US$1,000 after subtracting withholding and credits. Otherwise it is avoided by having paid at least 90 per cent of the tax for the current year, or 100 per cent of the tax shown on the return for the previous year, whichever is smaller.
A worked example: assume an agent expects a total federal tax of US$30,000 for 2026, and that the return for 2025 showed tax of US$24,000. Ninety per cent of US$30,000 is US$27,000. One hundred per cent of the previous year is US$24,000. The smaller of the two is US$24,000, which in four equal instalments is US$6,000 each. In this example the balance of US$6,000 would then be settled with the return. The IRS page states that certain higher-income taxpayers come under special rules and refers to Publication 505 for them without giving figures, so the example does not hold for every income level.
Commission income arrives unevenly, and the rules allow for that. Where income was received unevenly during the year, the IRS says the penalty may be reduced or avoided by annualising income and making unequal payments. Form 2210 is the form used to see whether a penalty is owed, and its instructions cover the waivers the IRS may grant, for example after a casualty or a disaster.
Related readSouth Australia agent commission: the 90-day sales agency agreementWhat comes off before tax: business expenses
Because the commission is business income, tax is charged on what remains after the costs of earning it. Schedule C is where those costs are entered, and Publication 334 for 2025 is the IRS's general guide to them. The publication even carries sections on real estate dealers and on real estate agents or direct sellers. Three of its headings bear on an agent's working life.
The car comes first for a trade carried out between listings. Publication 334 gives the standard mileage rate as 70 cents per mile for 2025 and 72.5 cents per mile for 2026. A worked example: assume 12,000 business miles in each year. At 70 cents the 2025 figure is US$8,400. At 72.5 cents the 2026 figure is US$8,700, a difference of US$300 for the same distance.
Meals are restricted. The publication says deductions for business meals are generally limited to 50 per cent.
The home office has its own tests. The publication's treatment of business use of the home is organised around exclusive use, regular use, the principal place of business and a limit on the deduction, with a simplified method alongside the regular one. The figures of the simplified method were not in the text read for this guide.
Records hold all of this up: Publication 334 sends readers to Publication 583, on starting a business and keeping records. Other costs of the trade, such as licence fees, association dues and advertising, were not in the part of the publication read here; whether a given cost is deductible depends on the facts of the case.
Related readTexas: who can legally be paid a real estate commissionThe qualified business income deduction
The last link in the chain is a deduction that applies to the profit itself. The IRS describes the qualified business income deduction, also called the section 199A deduction, as allowing eligible taxpayers to deduct up to 20 per cent of their qualified business income, along with 20 per cent of qualified dividends from real estate investment trusts and qualified income from publicly traded partnerships. It has applied to tax years beginning after 31 December 2017.
Eligibility follows the form of the business. According to the IRS page, the deduction is open to owners of sole proprietorships, partnerships and S corporations, and to some trusts and estates. Income earned through a C corporation, or as wages by an employee, does not qualify. It is available whether the taxpayer itemises deductions or takes the standard deduction. A self-employed agent filing Schedule C is therefore inside the group the deduction was written for, while a salaried employee of a brokerage is not.
Qualified business income is the net amount of qualified items of income, gain, deduction and loss from a qualified trade or business. The instructions for Form 8995 for 2025 say that all items attributable to the business must be taken into account, naming the deductible part of self-employment tax, the self-employed health insurance deduction and contributions to qualified retirement plans. Capital gains and losses, wage income and interest not allocable to the business are among the items those instructions list as left out.
| Filing status | Threshold | End of the phase-in range |
|---|---|---|
| Married filing jointly | US$394,600 | US$494,600 |
| All other returns | US$197,300 | US$247,300 |
IRS instructions for Form 8995 (2025). At or below the threshold the simpler Form 8995 is used; above it, Form 8995-A.
The thresholds decide how simple the deduction is. At or below them, a taxpayer uses Form 8995 and the limits tied to the type of business, to wages paid and to property owned do not come into play. Above them, Form 8995-A applies and those limits begin to bite across the phase-in range. One of them concerns what the law calls a specified service trade or business. The instructions list the fields concerned, among them health, law, accounting, consulting, financial services and "brokerage services". They do not define that last term or mention real estate, so whether an agent with taxable income above the threshold is caught by it is an open point that this guide does not settle.
Even below the thresholds there is a cap. The IRS states that the deduction is the lesser of the combined components and 20 per cent of taxable income less net capital gain. A worked example for 2025: assume a single agent with qualified business income of US$90,000, taxable income before the deduction of US$120,000 and no net capital gain. Twenty per cent of US$90,000 is US$18,000. Twenty per cent of US$120,000 is US$24,000. The deduction is the lesser, US$18,000. Change one assumption, with taxable income of US$80,000 because of other deductions, and the cap becomes 20 per cent of US$80,000, or US$16,000, which is then the deduction.
Where qualified business income is a net loss, the instructions say there is no deduction that year and the loss is carried forward against later qualified business income. The rules also changed at the turn of the year. Publication 334 for 2025 says the 20 per cent deduction has been made permanent for qualified active trades or businesses and that its income thresholds have increased. The IRS page, last reviewed on 22 September 2026, adds that for tax years beginning after 2025 the deduction is the greater of the amount under the taxable income limitation and a new Minimum Deduction for Active Qualified Business Income, which requires the taxpayer to materially participate in the business. The page read does not state the amount of that minimum, and the 2026 thresholds were not in the 2025 instructions.
One written contract and pay tied to sales move an agent's whole tax life from the employer's payroll to the agent's own return.