In this article

Kooky
Builder of Shaka, the payment router that pays every agent their commission on closing date.
About Kooky and Shaka →CertifID, a company whose software is used by title companies in the United States to guard closing funds against wire fraud, has acquired its rival Closinglock. The deal was announced on Thursday 1 October 2026 in a company release carried by Business Wire, and reported the same day by HousingWire, Inman and the American Land Title Association's TitleNews. Both companies are based in Austin, Texas. The price was not disclosed.
The announcement puts the two companies under one roof. According to the release, the combined business serves more than 3,000 title companies and 35,000 title professionals, and employs about 220 people. For the title and escrow firms that use either product, the first message from CertifID's chief executive was that nothing changes on day one. The longer questions, on products, on prices and on how the two systems will be brought together, were raised by the trade press within hours.
Figures stated by CertifID in its release of 1 October 2026, as reported by Business Wire and HousingWire.
What was announced
The release, timed at 7:00 a.m. Eastern on 1 October, says CertifID has acquired Closinglock and that the financial terms are not being made public. HousingWire's report, published at the same hour, gives the same account.
Leadership is settled. Tyler Adams, co-founder and chief executive of CertifID, leads the combined company. Andy White, co-founder and chief executive of Closinglock, becomes chief strategy officer.
It is CertifID's second purchase in four months. The company bought CloseSimple in June 2026, both HousingWire and the release note. The firm, by its own account, began as a response to a single fraud.
That origin is part of the release. CertifID was founded after the Grand Rapids, Michigan title company of co-founders Tom Cronkright and Lawrence Duthler lost US$180,000 to wire fraud in 2015. Closinglock, also in Austin, was founded in 2017.
Related readWestern Australia: from offer and acceptance to settlement dayIn the release, Adams framed the deal around the demands placed on title companies, which he said are being asked to protect more, to move faster and to give their customers a better experience. White said Closinglock had been built to protect the people and the money involved in a real estate transaction.
Two Austin firms and what each brings
The two companies grew up in the same city, selling to the same customers. They are not identical, and the American Land Title Association's TitleNews item on the deal summed up the difference this way: CertifID brings identity verification and fraud recovery, while Closinglock brings escrow management and secure payments.
Both have been funded by outside investors. The release puts the total raised by the two at more than US$130 million: US$80 million for CertifID and US$50 million for Closinglock. The backers named for CertifID are Arthur Ventures and Centana Growth Partners; those named for Closinglock are Sageview Capital, Headline and Live Oak Ventures.
| Point | CertifID | Closinglock |
|---|---|---|
| Base | Austin, Texas | Austin, Texas |
| What it brings | Identity verification and fraud recovery | Escrow management and secure payments |
| Funding raised | US$80 million | US$50 million |
| Named investors | Arthur Ventures, Centana Growth Partners | Sageview Capital, Headline, Live Oak Ventures |
| Track record stated | 1.55 million transactions protected in 2025 | More than 2 million transactions since founding |
| Chief executive's new role | Tyler Adams leads the combined company | Andy White becomes chief strategy officer |
Sources: CertifID release via Business Wire, HousingWire and ALTA TitleNews, all dated 1 October 2026.
The track records in the table are not measured the same way. CertifID's figure covers one calendar year. Closinglock's covers its whole life as a company, and comes with a value attached: more than US$900 billion protected across those transactions, according to the release.
CertifID adds one more number of its own. Through the service it calls Fraud Recovery Services, it says it has recovered US$145 million in stolen funds, a figure the release gives alongside its 2025 transaction count. That is a different kind of work from checking a payment before it leaves: it begins after money has already gone to the wrong place.
Related readSettlement day in Australia: how an electronic settlement runsThe numbers behind the deal
The release sets the deal against a rising level of fraud. Citing the FBI's Internet Crime Complaint Center, it says losses from real estate fraud grew more than twice as fast as overall reported cybercrime losses last year, and that losses from business email compromise passed US$3 billion. Those are the FBI's figures as the company quotes them; the release is the source here, not the FBI report itself.
The companies also give a forecast of their own. Together, they expect to protect 2.5 million transactions in 2026. Inman, in its analysis of the announcement, set that number beside two others. It is about 60 per cent above CertifID's total for 2025. In absolute terms the gap is 0.95 million transactions (2.5 million less 1.55 million), though the forecast covers both companies and the 2025 count covers only one. And it compares with roughly 4.06 million existing-home sales last year, the figure Inman takes from the National Association of Realtors.
Sources: CertifID release, 1 October 2026; National Association of Realtors existing-home sales for last year, as cited by Inman. The three figures do not count the same thing.
The release adds a payments figure: together, the two companies say they have moved more than US$7 billion in real estate payments. Like the transaction counts, it is the companies' own number, and the coverage read for this article contains no independent check of it.
The comparison with home sales needs care. How the companies count a protected transaction is not set out in the coverage read for this article. Inman sets the sales figure beside the forecast as a comparison, and none of that coverage gives a market share.
Related readFrom completion to title deed: finishing an off-plan purchase in DubaiWhat stays the same for title and escrow firms
For a title or escrow office that uses one of the two products, the practical message of the announcement is continuity. According to the release, existing products and integrations continue. HousingWire reports Adams saying that the point he was proudest of was that customers would see no change on the first day.
The release also makes a commitment that matters to firms whose daily work runs through other software. CertifID says it will keep an open ecosystem with title production systems and with underwriters. In plain terms, the company is telling customers that the tools they already connect to either product will stay connected.
One change is planned from the start, and it happens behind the screen. HousingWire reports that the two companies intend to share threat intelligence across both customer bases.
How and when the two products become one is left open. Real Estate News reports Adams as saying that the company is approaching the integration of the two products carefully. White, quoted by HousingWire, described that integration as the company's own problem to solve. No timetable is reported in the coverage read for this article.
The questions the trade press is asking
Inman's analysis went further than the announcement. It raised two questions that go beyond the announcement: what the combination means for pricing, now that two competitors for the same customers have one owner, and what happens where the two products overlap.
Inman also noted a change of vocabulary. CertifID, it reports, now describes itself as "the closing platform", a wider label than fraud prevention.
Related readTransferring a ready property in Dubai: the steps and the full costNone of this is a finding against the deal. They are the ordinary questions that follow when two suppliers to the same trade merge, and the companies' stated position so far is that current products and integrations continue. No source reports yet on what customers will be offered.
The price, the pricing and the timetable are not reported
The financial terms of the acquisition were not made public. The coverage does not report how the two product lines will be merged or by when, or whether what customers pay will change. Inman raised the pricing and overlap questions on 1 October.
A week of change for closing vendors
The deal landed in a week when the companies that supply title and escrow firms were in the news more than once.
On Thursday 8 October, the American Land Title Association said it had updated its Best Practices Framework to Version 5.0. According to the association's TitleNews item, the new version overhauls the framework's vendor management requirements and strengthens its guidance on cybersecurity, information security and regulatory compliance. The full text sits behind the association's member login, and the public item does not give an effective date or set out the changes section by section.
No source links the two announcements. The two stories meet on one point all the same: a title company that depends on an outside firm to verify identities or handle closing payments is managing a vendor, and the association has just rewritten what it expects of that task.
The same day, HousingWire reported a different kind of consolidation. Compass International Holdings is moving all the title and escrow companies of Compass Integrated Services onto Qualia, replacing systems inherited from its merger with Anywhere Real Estate. The first title company is scheduled to go live on 12 October 2026 and the others follow through 2027, HousingWire reports, with Qualia's footprint set to grow more than fivefold.
Read together, the three items describe a trade whose tools are being gathered into fewer hands while its own industry body asks for closer oversight of whoever supplies them.
What comes next
Very little is dated. The companies have given a forecast for the year, 2.5 million protected transactions in 2026, and a set of commitments: current products continue, integrations continue, and threat intelligence will be shared across the two customer bases. No schedule for combining the products is reported. The one dated step in the week's news belongs to another story: the first Compass title company's move onto Qualia, scheduled for 12 October.
For title and escrow firms, the points to watch are the ones the announcement leaves open. The first is whether the two products stay separate or are folded into one, and what notice customers receive. The second is pricing, the question Inman put on the table. The third is the open ecosystem commitment, which will be tested each time a title production system or an underwriter connects, or asks to connect, to the combined company.
The fuller text of the association's Version 5.0 will matter here as well. Until its vendor management requirements can be read in detail, and its effective date is known, it is not possible to say what a title company will be expected to document about a supplier of this kind.