In this article

Kooky
Builder of Shaka, the payment router that pays every agent their commission on closing date.
About Kooky and Shaka →Letting a home in Singapore is not one activity with one rulebook. A public housing flat and a private apartment sit under different authorities, and almost every practical question (who may be the landlord, who may be the tenant, how short a tenancy may be, how many people may live there) has a different answer on each side. An owner who knows the private rules and applies them to a flat, or the reverse, can end up with an arrangement that neither authority accepts.
This guide sets the two regimes side by side, using what the authorities themselves publish: the Singapore Government's explainer on renting out an HDB flat, the pages of the Housing and Development Board (HDB) and of the Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA), and the checklists and consumer pages of the Council for Estate Agencies (CEA). It covers whole-flat and bedroom rentals in HDB flats, the tenants a flat owner may accept, the quota and the rental periods, then the minimum stay and the occupancy cap in private homes. It also sets out a point that is easy to miss: the temporary rule allowing eight occupants in larger homes was extended to 31 December 2028 by a release of 16 January 2026, while the Government's explainer for HDB flats still showed the earlier end date, 31 December 2026, when it was read.
Singapore Government explainer on renting out an HDB flat (footer updated 7 October 2026) and URA's Renting Property page (updated 15 June 2026).
Two regimes: which rules apply to which home
The first question is what kind of property is being let. For an HDB flat, the rules come from HDB, and HDB's page on renting out a flat or bedrooms opens with the principle that governs everything else: its approval is needed, whether the owner lets the whole flat or only spare bedrooms. Singapore's explainer for flat owners adds the conditions attached to that approval, and it names the Housing and Development Act as the law under which action is taken against owners who let without it.
Related readHow Section 8 vouchers work for private landlords in the United StatesFor private residential property, the rules are planning rules and they come from URA. There is no approval to obtain for an ordinary tenancy. Instead, URA sets two limits that every tenancy must respect: a minimum length of stay and a cap on the number of unrelated occupants. URA's page says the owner can be liable for infringements at the property, and that the limits bind a tenant who sublets as much as the owner who let to that tenant.
One category sits between the two. URA's page says an executive condominium may use the temporary higher occupancy cap described below only once HDB's minimum occupation period for the unit has been fulfilled. The other rules for executive condominiums are not set out on the pages read for this guide, and are left aside here.
Who may rent out a whole HDB flat
Three conditions are stated for letting an entire flat, and all three must be met.
The first is citizenship. According to the Singapore Government's explainer, only owners who are Singapore Citizens may rent out a whole flat. Permanent residents may not, and the explainer is explicit that the length of time they have owned or lived in the flat makes no difference.
The second is time. The owner must have completed the minimum occupation period, which the explainer gives as 5 years, whether the flat was bought from HDB or on the resale market. HDB's own page states the same principle in a sentence: citizen owners who have met the minimum occupation period can rent out their entire flat.
Related readUS tenant screening reports: a landlord's duties under the FCRAThe third is the flat's classification. HDB's MyNiceHome page on flat types, last updated on 24 June 2026, says that only Standard flats may be rented out whole. Plus and Prime flats cannot be rented out as a whole flat at any time. For an owner of a Plus or Prime flat, this is not a waiting period that eventually ends: the option of letting the entire home does not exist, and only the bedroom route described in the next section remains.
A whole-flat rental also changes who is expected to be present. The explainer says that an owner who is overseas during a whole-flat rental must have a properly appointed attorney managing the flat. It adds that property tax is revised when a flat is let, and refers owners to the Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore (IRAS) for the rates and the notification procedure. The explainer states no application fee for a whole-flat rental, and the part of HDB's site that would give one could not be read for this guide, so no figure is given here.
Renting out bedrooms in an HDB flat
Bedroom rental is the wider door. The same explainer says that all owners may use it, including permanent residents and the owners of Plus and Prime flats, and that they may do so before the minimum occupation period has been fulfilled. The restriction lies in the size of the flat: only bedrooms in 3-room or larger flats may be let. A 1-room or 2-room flat can be rented out only as a whole.
Related readVictoria bans rental application fees from Tuesday 13 OctoberThe procedure is short. HDB's prior approval is still required, but the explainer describes an online application through HDB's e-services with an immediate outcome, and an administrative fee of S$10 per bedroom. As a worked example, an owner who registers two bedrooms pays 2 × S$10, or S$20 in fees.
The condition that defines a bedroom rental is that the household stays. The owner and all authorised occupiers must go on living in the flat alongside the tenants. If they do not, the explainer says the registration is automatically revoked and the arrangement is treated as a whole-flat rental without approval, on which action is taken under the Housing and Development Act. In practice, an owner who lets two bedrooms and then moves out has not simply changed address: the legal nature of the letting has changed, and an owner who is not eligible to let a whole flat (a permanent resident, a Plus or Prime owner, or anyone still inside the minimum occupation period) has no approval to fall back on.
| Point | Whole flat | Bedrooms |
|---|---|---|
| Owner | Singapore Citizens only | All owners, permanent residents included |
| Minimum occupation period | 5 years, completed | May be let before it is fulfilled |
| Flat classification | Standard flats only | Standard, Plus and Prime |
| Flat size | Includes 1-room and 2-room flats | 3-room or larger only |
| Non-citizen quota | Applies | Does not apply |
| Owner living in the flat | Not required | Required, with all authorised occupiers |
Singapore Government explainer on renting out an HDB flat; HDB MyNiceHome page on flat classifications (updated 24 June 2026).
The bedroom route also carries a deadline. The explainer says that terminations, renewals and changes to the tenants' particulars must be notified to HDB within 7 days.
Who may be the tenant of an HDB flat
On the public housing side, the tenant is vetted as well as the landlord. The explainer lists who is eligible: Singapore citizens and permanent residents, and non-citizens who hold an Employment Pass, an S Pass, a Work Permit, a Student Pass, a Dependant Pass or a Long-Term Social Visit Pass. For the non-citizens, the pass must be valid for at least 6 months.
Related readHow Victoria regulates renting: 90 days' notice, bonds and valid reasonsWork Permit holders face a further test by sector. Those working in the construction, marine and process sectors must be Malaysian to rent an HDB flat at all. Those in the manufacturing sector must also be Malaysian if they are renting a whole flat. The explainer points owners to the Immigration and Checkpoints Authority to verify immigration status, and to the Ministry of Manpower to verify that a work pass is valid.
A tenant who already owns an HDB flat is generally not accepted. The explainer lists the cases in which such a person may still rent: parties who are divorced or legally separated, with only one of the two allowed to rent; tenants who rent out their own flat within 1 month of renting from the owner; and owners of an executive condominium unit, who must first have completed that unit's minimum occupation period.
These checks are the landlord's to make. Among the duties the explainer puts on the owner: letting only to eligible tenants, making sure they remain lawfully in Singapore for the whole tenancy, making sure they do not sublet, and making sure they leave when the tenancy ends, when the owner stops being eligible, or when HDB repossesses the flat. The owner answers for the tenants' breaches of the lease conditions and of the Housing and Development Act.
The tenant has checks of their own. The CEA's checklist for tenants of HDB flats (version 1.1, updated 18 November 2020) tells a tenant, before signing, to confirm the landlord's name, the ownership of the flat and HDB's confirmation that the owners may rent it out. That third item is the tenant's protection against moving into a letting that HDB never approved.
Related readWestern Australia's renting rules: rent rises, pets, bonds and noticeThe non-citizen quota and the rental period
Whole-flat rentals are subject to a quota that bedroom rentals escape. The explainer sets the non-citizen quota at 8% at neighbourhood level and 11% at block level. It counts permanent residents and foreigners, but not Malaysians, and it does not apply to bedroom rentals. Owners can check where their own flat stands through an HDB e-service.
What happens when the quota is full is spelled out by the CEA, in an article of 21 October 2022 written for property agents. Once the quota is reached, owners in that neighbourhood or block may let a whole flat only to Singaporeans and Malaysians. The same article notes that the result of a quota check holds only for applications submitted in the same month. A check made at the end of one month therefore says nothing certain about an application lodged in the next: the quota position is a monthly reading, not a standing clearance.
The length of the tenancy is limited at both ends. The explainer gives a minimum of 6 months per application, and adds that short-term rentals are not allowed. The maximum is 3 years per application, reduced to 2 years if any tenant is a non-citizen who is not Malaysian.
Two worked examples show how the maximum falls. In the first, a citizen owner lets a whole Standard flat to a household in which every tenant is a Singapore citizen: one application may run for up to 3 years. In the second, the same flat is let to three tenants, two of them Singaporean and one a non-Malaysian pass holder: because the rule turns on any tenant, one such person is enough to bring the limit down to 2 years. Both limits are expressed per application, and the explainer lists renewals among the changes an owner must notify to HDB.
Related readAustralia's capital city house rents stall at A$700 a weekHow many people may live in an HDB flat
The cap on occupants depends on the flat type. In the explainer, the figure is a total: it counts the owner, the authorised occupiers and the tenants where bedrooms are let, not the tenants alone.
| Flat type | Maximum occupants | Note |
|---|---|---|
| 1-room | 4 | Whole-flat rental only |
| 2-room | 4 | Whole-flat rental only |
| 3-room | 6 | Whole flat or bedrooms |
| 4-room | 8 | Temporary relaxation |
| 5-room | 8 | Temporary relaxation |
| Executive | 8 | Temporary relaxation |
Singapore Government explainer on renting out an HDB flat, as read on 9 October 2026. The figure of 8 carries a footnote: see the section on the two end dates.
Because the count is a total, the room left for tenants depends on the size of the owner's household. As a worked example, take a 3-room flat in which the owner lives with three authorised occupiers, four people in all. With a cap of 6, the flat can take 6 − 4 = 2 tenants, however many spare bedrooms it has. If the same owner lived alone, the arithmetic would be 6 − 1 = 5.
The figure of 8 for 4-room, 5-room and Executive flats is not presented as permanent. The explainer attaches a footnote saying that, for 4-room or larger flats, the cap has been temporarily relaxed to eight unrelated persons. It does not state, on the page as read, what figure applies to those flats outside the relaxation. HDB's own regulations page, as read on 10 October 2026, supplies it: for rental periods extending beyond 31 December 2028, the limit for 4-room and bigger flats reverts to a maximum of 6 persons. That is the figure the CEA's article of October 2022 gave before the relaxation began.
Private homes: the three-month minimum stay
On the private side there is no eligibility test for the owner, and the central rule is one of duration. URA's Renting Property page, last updated on 15 June 2026, says that all occupants must fulfil a minimum stay of three consecutive months, and that letting on a daily or weekly basis is not allowed.
Related readDubai rent increases, Ejari and eviction notices: how the rules workURA's separate page on short-term accommodation, updated on the same date, defines the term: stays of less than three consecutive months. It says all residential properties are intended for long-term residence, and it lists condominiums, walk-up apartments, flats, bungalows, semi-detached houses and terrace houses. The rule is addressed to tenants as well as owners. The page says a tenant who relets a home for short stays, whether presented as a hostel, a homestay or a bed and breakfast and often through a home-sharing platform, is acting illegally, and that an owner who fails to exercise due diligence against that misuse may be held responsible. Owners are told to check regularly that their tenants are not doing so.
On penalties, URA says a person found guilty under the Planning Act faces a fine of up to S$5,000. It adds that repeat offenders and those operating at several properties are taken to court, where the fines imposed have been significantly heavier. The page gives neither the section of the Act nor a maximum for those court fines, so neither is stated here.
The page also places the rule among the alternatives. A serviced apartment has a minimum stay of seven days, and a hotel has none. URA describes working with management corporations to investigate suspected cases, and asks them to screen visitors and keep records of the units concerned and of dates of entry and exit. Visitors booked into a home let illegally may have to assist an investigation and pay for other accommodation.
Related readDubai rent settlements reach 2,350 in nine months, worth AED 401 millionThe two regimes do not use the same minimum. A private tenancy may be as short as three consecutive months; an HDB rental needs at least 6 months per application. The CEA's landlord checklists (version 1.1, updated 18 November 2020) carry the same difference into the check on a non-resident tenant's pass: valid for at least 6 months for an HDB flat, and for at least 3 months for a private property.
Private homes: six unrelated persons, or eight on registration
URA's occupancy cap is six unrelated persons per property. The page defines unrelated persons as anyone who is not part of the same family unit, and says domestic helpers are considered part of the family unit. A family with a helper is therefore one unit for this purpose, while six friends sharing an apartment have reached the cap. The cap applies to subtenants too, and the owner is expected to make sure tenants respect it.
Since 22 January 2024, larger homes may exceed that figure. URA's page says private residential properties with a strata or lot area of at least 90 sqm may house up to eight unrelated persons, on one condition: the owner must first register the property with URA and pay a fee of S$20. The property must be approved for residential use, and it must not have had a registration cancelled in the previous 12 months, or a shorter period that URA specifies in writing. Homes under 90 sqm stay at six, and URA's page of frequently asked questions says an appeal to raise the cap for a smaller unit is not allowed.
Related readHow a rent dispute is heard at Dubai's Rental Disputes Center- Check the propertyApproved for residential use, at least 90 sqm of strata or lot area, and no registration cancelled in the previous 12 months.
- Register and payThe owner registers online with Singpass, or Corppass for a corporate owner, and pays the S$20 fee.
- Wait for the emailThe higher cap applies only once URA's confirmation email arrives.
The third step is the one URA's own questions and answers insist on: a payment receipt is not an authorisation. An owner holding only the receipt is told to look through every inbox, junk folder included, and to write to URA if nothing is found. Registration exists online only. A foreign owner without a full Singpass account may authorise a Singpass holder under a valid power of attorney, uploaded with the registration; the executor or administrator of a deceased owner first sends URA the grant of probate or of letters of administration.
Registration can be lost. URA says it is cancelled, and the authorisation ends, if the cap of eight is exceeded or if the extra occupancy causes serious nuisance, and further enforcement may follow. Since a cancellation in the previous 12 months is itself a bar to registering, a home that loses its registration returns to six.
URA does not ask owners of private property to register their tenants' names with it. It suggests checking with the management corporation, whose by-laws may require tenants to be registered with the estate. A tenant, for their part, cannot ask URA whether a home is registered: URA says it does not disclose this and refers the question to the owner. A tenancy agreement signed before January 2024 that allows six occupants is not rewritten by the relaxation either; URA calls the agreement a private contract between landlord and tenant.
The relaxation to eight: extended to 2028, an older date still online
The temporary cap of eight began on the same day for both kinds of home, 22 January 2024. The official sources read for this guide do not all give it the same end.
Related readRenting in New South Wales: rent rises, lease endings and pets| Home | Stated period | Source |
|---|---|---|
| HDB flats, 4-room or larger | 22 January 2024 to 31 December 2026 | Singapore Government explainer on renting out an HDB flat, footer updated 7 October 2026 |
| Private homes of at least 90 sqm | 22 January 2024 to 31 December 2028 | URA, Renting Property page, updated 15 June 2026 |
| 4-room and larger HDB flats, and private homes of at least 90 sqm | Extended for another two years, until 31 December 2028 | URA media release of 16 January 2026 |
Each date is quoted from the source named beside it, as read on 9 October 2026.
For private property, the later date appears twice on URA's site. Its page of questions and answers speaks of an extension to 31 December 2028, and tells owners who had already registered that they need not register again: the registration remains valid until that date unless it has been voided or disqualified.
For HDB flats, the explainer's footnote still read 31 December 2026 on the day this guide was prepared. URA's Renting Property page covers private properties only and sends HDB owners to HDB's website. HDB's regulations page, as read on 10 October 2026, gives the later date: the limit of 8 for 4-room and bigger flats reverts to a maximum of 6 persons for rental periods extending beyond 31 December 2028. A URA media release dated 16 January 2026 speaks of flats as well. Its title is "Extension of temporary relaxation of occupancy cap for rental of HDB flats and private residential properties until 31 December 2028", and it says the relaxation for larger HDB flats and private residential properties is extended for another two years, until that date. It describes the homes concerned as 4-room and larger HDB flats and private residential properties of at least 90 sqm. The explainer's 31 December 2026 is exactly two years earlier, which fits a footnote written before the extension. Both dates are reported here with their source; for flats, the 2028 date rests on that release and on HDB's own regulations page.
The explainer for HDB flats still shows the date from before the extension
The Singapore Government's explainer says 31 December 2026. URA's release of 16 January 2026 extends the relaxation for 4-room and larger HDB flats, and for private homes of at least 90 sqm, until 31 December 2028. HDB's regulations page, as read on 10 October 2026, gives 31 December 2028 too.
The end of the relaxation matters because, on the private side at least, it is not softened by existing contracts. URA's answer is that after 31 December 2028 all private residential properties must follow the cap of six unrelated persons with immediate effect, including under tenancies signed or renewed before that date and running past it. Owners and tenants may both be liable for a breach, and URA puts on both the responsibility for making the tenancy agreement reflect this. As a worked example, a two-year tenancy for eight people signed in mid-2027 would run to mid-2029, and would have to come down to six occupants at the end of 2028, part of the way through its term.
Related readNSW's first End of Tenancy Survey: renters end 85% of leasesTenancy agreement, checklists and stamp duty
The CEA publishes tenancy agreement templates, one for HDB flats and one for private residential property. Its consumer page on renting, last updated on 4 November 2025, presents them as guides that the parties can amend, not as compulsory forms. Alongside them sit checklists for landlords and for tenants, in HDB and private versions, and a checklist on compliance with the Immigration Act and the Women's Charter in residential leases, which the CEA says is mandatory for property agents.
Stamp duty is payable on the tenancy agreement. The CEA's landlord checklist for HDB flats records the default that applies when the agreement is silent: if it does not say who pays, the tenant is liable. The rate of the duty and the deadline for paying it could not be verified on the IRAS pages for this guide, and no figure is given; they are published by IRAS.
Where a lawyer is involved, the Ministry of Law's questions and answers on safeguarding conveyancing money add a rule about how certain sums are held. Lawyers must treat stamp duty of S$5,000 or more on a lease, and the tenancy deposits they hold, as conveyancing money, the category of client money covered by those safeguards.
What property agents may and may not do
Many lettings pass through a property agent, and the CEA draws a firm line around money in HDB rentals. Its page on engaging a property agent, last updated on 13 May 2026, says agents must not handle HDB rental deposits or the monthly rent. The tenant pays the landlord directly.
In an HDB rental, deposit and rent go from tenant to landlord
The CEA says property agents must not handle the deposit or the monthly rent of an HDB flat. A request to route either payment through an agent does not match the rule the regulator publishes.
The agent's work is also bound to the eligibility rules described above. The CEA's 2022 article reports a disciplinary case decided in June 2022, in which a salesperson had facilitated a whole-flat rental that was not authorised because the flat was still within its minimum occupation period. The salesperson was fined S$5,000, suspended for 4 months and ordered to pay S$2,000 in costs. The consequence for the owner was of another order: the article says HDB compulsorily acquired the flat.