In this article

Kooky
Builder of Shaka, the payment router that pays every agent their commission on closing date.
About Kooky and Shaka →A resale flat in Singapore changes hands between two households, but the Housing and Development Board (HDB) sets almost every step of the way. The contract is a form HDB prescribes, the fees the buyer hands to the seller are capped, the time the buyer has to decide is fixed to the hour, and nothing completes until HDB has approved the sale in writing. A buyer who knows the order of the steps, and which dates cannot be moved, avoids the mistakes that cost an option fee or send the whole purchase back to the start.
HDB describes the purchase in four stages: resale flat planning, the Option to Purchase (which includes the Request for Value), the resale flat application, and resale flat completion. This guide follows that order. It draws on HDB's process pages, its buying guide (last updated on 29 June 2026), its Important Notes on the Option to Purchase and its Terms and Conditions of Sale and Purchase of an HDB Resale Flat (both updated on 7 September 2026), and two CPF Board explainers of April and June 2026. It describes the general rules; who may buy which flat, and with which grants, depends on each household and is settled by HDB case by case.
HDB, Important Notes on the Option to Purchase and Terms and Conditions of Sale and Purchase of an HDB Resale Flat, updated 7 September 2026.
The HFE letter comes before any viewing that matters
The first document is the buyer's, not the seller's. According to HDB's buying guide, a buyer applies for an HDB Flat Eligibility letter, known as the HFE letter, on the HDB Flat Portal. The application is free. The letter sets out, in one place, whether the household may buy a flat, which CPF housing grants it qualifies for and how large an HDB housing loan it may take.
Related readUSA: home inspection or appraisal, and who gets the appraisal reportThe letter is valid for 9 months, and HDB attaches two moments to that validity. It must be valid on the day the buyer obtains an Option to Purchase from a seller, and it must still be valid on the day the resale application is submitted. A buyer whose letter lapses between those two dates has a problem that money cannot fix: HDB's Important Notes say it will not accept a resale application when the HFE letter is not valid, or when the timeline for obtaining it has not been respected.
Financing is prepared at the same stage. The buying guide says a buyer who wants a loan from a bank or another financial institution may ask for In-Principle Approvals from participating institutions in the same application as the HFE letter. An In-Principle Approval is not yet a loan. It has to be turned into a Letter of Offer later, during the option period, as explained below.
Finally, HDB's Important Notes remind buyers that eligibility is not a one-off test. It has to hold from the HFE application to completion, and HDB may reject or cancel an application if a change in the household affects it. The same notes say buyers must comply with the Ethnic Integration Policy and the quota for Singapore permanent residents when the application is submitted; the detail of those quotas was not read for this guide and is checked for each block on HDB's own services.
What the seller must have in place
A buyer cannot see everything a seller has done, but three conditions on the seller's side decide whether an option is worth anything.
Related readUS mortgage preapproval, rate locks and points before an offerThe first is the Intent to Sell. HDB's Important Notes say sellers register it on the HDB Flat Portal, and that it must have been registered at least 7 days before they grant an Option to Purchase. HDB calls this a cooling-off period. Like the buyer's HFE letter, the Intent to Sell must also be valid when the resale application is submitted.
The second is the minimum occupation period, the time owners must have lived in the flat before they may sell it on the open market. The Important Notes are blunt on this point: if the sellers have not met the minimum occupation period before granting the Option to Purchase, the option is null and void.
The third is the signature. All the sellers must sign the option before granting it, and before doing so they are expected to confirm three things: that their Intent to Sell is valid, that the 7-day cooling-off period has passed, and that the buyers hold a valid HFE letter.
The Option to Purchase: one form, capped fees
In an HDB resale, the Option to Purchase, or OTP, is the contract. HDB's Important Notes say sellers and buyers must use the form HDB prescribes, and that any other agreement for the sale and purchase of the flat is null and void under the Housing and Development Act. The form is downloaded from HDB's site and cannot be amended: no deletion, no insertion, no change to any provision. HDB's buying guide adds that each form carries a unique serial number, which the buyer quotes later in the resale application, and that only the English version is signed and accepted.
Related readUS report: one salary buys a typical home in 14% of job-metro pairsSide agreements are not allowed, whatever they are called
HDB's Important Notes require both parties to declare the true resale price and forbid any supplemental agreement, arrangement or promise about the sale, including a further sum paid while waiting for completion. Giving false information about a sale or purchase is an offence under the Housing and Development Act.
Two payments go from the buyer to the seller under the option, and both are capped.
- The Option Fee is paid when the sellers grant the option. HDB sets it between S$1 and S$1,000, agreed between the two sides. It cannot be S$0.
- The Option Exercise Fee is paid when the buyer accepts. It must be stated in the option and cannot be S$0 either.
Together the two fees make up the deposit, which must not exceed S$5,000. The CPF Board's explainer of 28 April 2026 adds three points that matter for a buyer's budget: both fees are negotiable, both form part of the resale price, and neither can be paid with CPF savings. They are cash.
A worked example, with assumed figures: a buyer and a seller agree an Option Fee of S$1,000, the maximum. The Option Exercise Fee can then be at most S$4,000, since S$1,000 plus S$4,000 reaches the S$5,000 ceiling on the deposit. If they had agreed an Option Fee of S$500 instead, the Option Exercise Fee could be up to S$4,500.
Once the option is granted, a clock starts. The Option Period is 21 calendar days after the Option Date, the day the sellers grant the option, and it ends at an hour as well as on a day. Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays count. HDB standardises the expiry at 4pm, and gives its own example in the Important Notes: an option granted on 9 May 2023 expires on 30 May 2023.
During those 21 days the seller is bound and the buyer is not. Under clause 2.5 of the Terms and Conditions, the seller cannot sell the flat, grant another Option to Purchase or make an offer to other buyers. The buyer, for the price of the Option Fee, has the flat reserved while the financing and the value are settled.
Related readUS housing costs: Redfin maps the road back to 2018 affordabilityThe buyer does not sign the option on receiving it. HDB's buying guide says the buyer signs only on exercising it. If the buyer does not exercise within the Option Period, for whatever reason, the option expires, and according to the Important Notes the buyer then loses only the Option Fee. That is the meaning of the cap: the cost of walking away during the Option Period is at most S$1,000.
HDB advises buyers not to leave the exercise to the last hour.
The Request for Value and cash over valuation
The option period is also when the buyer finds out what the flat is worth in HDB's eyes. A buyer who will use a housing loan or CPF savings submits a Request for Value to HDB. Only a buyer who has been granted an option may submit one, and the deadline is short: the next working day after the Option Date, with a scanned copy of page 1 of the option. The buyer's salesperson may submit it for them.
HDB then decides whether a valuation is needed. If it is, clause 4.6 of the Terms and Conditions requires the sellers to let the assigned valuer into the flat within three working days of HDB's notice. HDB emails the buyers when the value is available on the portal, typically within 10 working days, according to the Important Notes. Clause 4.11 says the value remains valid for 3 months; the resale application has to be submitted inside that window, or a new request is needed.
One figure from the first round of research could not be confirmed: the fee HDB charges for a Request for Value. HDB's page on the request did not display its content when it was consulted, so no amount is given here.
Related readVictoria private sale: what a buyer checks before signing the contractWhy the value matters is explained by the CPF Board in its explainer of 12 June 2026. When the agreed resale price is higher than the valuation, the difference is called Cash Over Valuation, and it must be paid fully in cash. Neither a loan nor CPF savings covers it.
A worked example, with assumed figures: a buyer holds an option at a resale price of S$700,000, and HDB's value comes back at S$680,000. The Cash Over Valuation is S$700,000 less S$680,000, or S$20,000, to be found in cash. Because the value arrives during the Option Period, the buyer learns this before deciding whether to exercise. HDB's buying guide puts the steps in that order on purpose: request the value, receive the outcome, then decide.
The value also matters to HDB in the other direction. Under clauses 3.4 and 3.5 of the Terms and Conditions, as re-read for this guide, HDB may ask for a written explanation when the declared resale price is below the value, and may withhold its acceptance of the resale application or cancel it if it finds the reason unacceptable.
Exercising the option
Before exercising, the buyer confirms how the purchase will be paid. HDB's buying guide says the mode of financing (cash, CPF, a housing loan or a mix) is confirmed on My Flat Dashboard. For an HDB loan, the amount is the one shown in the HFE letter. For a loan from a financial institution, the In-Principle Approval is converted into a Letter of Offer during the Option Period. The Important Notes are precise about the sequence: a buyer taking a bank loan must hold a valid Letter of Offer when exercising the option, and its date of issue must be before the date of acceptance. A buyer taking no loan states in the resale application that the flat is paid fully with CPF savings, cash or both.
Related readOff-plan purchase in Dubai, step by step: registration, fees, resaleExercising the option is three acts, set out in the Important Notes:
- All the buyers sign the Acceptance on page 8 of the option.
- The signed option is delivered to the sellers.
- The Option Exercise Fee is paid to the sellers.
Once this is done, a binding contract exists. HDB suggests the buyers obtain, on their own copy, a signed acknowledgement from the sellers stating the date and the time of exercise.
Sellers may appoint someone to receive the signed option and the fee on their behalf, such as a solicitor's firm or an estate agent, using Form A of the option. This is where the rules on client money apply. The Important Notes state that salespersons and solicitors cannot receive cash for their clients or hold client money, so when the appointed person is one of them, the Option Exercise Fee is paid by cheque made payable to the sellers. HDB also recommends a cheque for the Option Fee itself.
An inventory can be attached at this stage. Clause 10.2 of the option provides an optional list of movable items and fittings, completed and signed by both parties on the form in the option's Schedule. It is the only place in the prescribed contract where the two sides record what stays in the flat.
The resale application
After the option is exercised, the sale goes to HDB. According to HDB's application page, the buyer and the sellers each submit their own portion of the resale application on the HDB Flat Portal, with the supporting documents, and each pays an administrative fee. The CPF Board gives the amounts: S$40 for 1-room and 2-room flats and S$80 for 3-room and bigger flats. The fee is not refunded.
Related readBuying property in Dubai: the checks a buyer can run before signingThe buyer's portion contains declarations as well as figures. HDB's page lists four:
- where there is more than one buyer, the manner of holding, which determines each owner's share;
- any interest in private property, declared by every person listed in the application;
- whether a person is an undischarged bankrupt;
- a power of attorney, when a buyer cannot attend personally to parts of the purchase.
The timing of the two submissions is the one point on which HDB's documents do not read the same way. The Important Notes on the Option to Purchase say the sellers and the buyers agree on when to submit their respective portions, and must then submit within the timeframe agreed. HDB's application page states that the resale application must be submitted within 7 calendar days, failing which it is cancelled with no refund, without saying from which event the 7 days run. The research for this guide could not settle the point; the likeliest reading is that the 7 days run from the first party's submission, but that is an inference, not HDB's wording. The starting point of the 7 days is therefore a question for HDB, not one this guide can answer.
Submission is not acceptance. Clause 5.2 of the Terms and Conditions says that submitting an application, and HDB receiving it, does not mean HDB has accepted it. Under clauses 5.3 and 5.4, acceptance depends on the ethnic and permanent-resident quota checks and on the verification of the documents, and HDB may refuse it when, among other reasons, the Intent to Sell or the HFE letter is not valid, the information is inconsistent or documents arrive late. HDB's buying guide says both parties are notified of acceptance within 28 working days of HDB receiving the complete application and its supporting documents.
From acceptance to approval
Acceptance is not approval either. Clause 5.5 of the Terms and Conditions says so in terms, and written approval from HDB must be obtained before the resale can complete. Between the two lie the documents and the money.
Related readNew South Wales: what to check before you exchange on a home- Resale applicationBuyer and sellers each submit their portion on the HDB Flat Portal and pay the administrative fee.
- AcceptanceHDB notifies both parties within 28 working days of receiving the complete application.
- EndorsementDocuments are ready about 3 weeks after acceptance, on My Flat Dashboard.
- ApprovalGranted about 2 weeks after both parties have endorsed and paid.
- CompletionAbout 8 weeks after acceptance. Keys change hands at the appointment.
According to HDB's buying guide, the resale documents are ready for endorsement about 3 weeks after acceptance. HDB sends an SMS, and the parties endorse on My Flat Dashboard. When HDB acts as the buyer's solicitor, the buyer endorses the financial plan, the CPF withdrawal, a health declaration for the CPF Board's Home Protection Scheme, and the resale documents themselves. Both the buyer and the sellers must endorse before HDB may approve.
After endorsing, the buyer pays the legal fees and the initial payment by the deadline HDB sets. For a buyer with an HDB loan, the buying guide puts the initial payment at 25 per cent of the resale price or of the value, whichever is lower. In the worked example above, with a price of S$700,000 and a value of S$680,000, the lower figure is the value, and 25 per cent of S$680,000 is S$170,000. The S$20,000 of Cash Over Valuation is a separate sum, in cash. The equivalent figures for a loan from a financial institution could not be read reliably on the page and are left out here; the buying guide says the timing of that payment is checked with the buyer's solicitor.
HDB's approval page says approval is granted about 2 weeks after both parties have endorsed the documents and made their payments. HDB's Important Notes warn that missing a deadline for endorsement, payment or a condition of approval may lead to completion being postponed or the application being cancelled. Postponement or cancellation does not remove either party's rights under the contract, including interest for late completion, and HDB is not liable for the resulting losses.
Related readAfter the BTO ballot in Singapore: booking, fees and key collectionWhat the purchase costs along the way
The CPF Board's explainer of 28 April 2026 lists the sums a buyer meets in the process, and its own example gives a sense of scale: on a resale flat of S$700,000, buyer's stamp duty is S$15,600.
| Item | Amount | Paid to | CPF usable |
|---|---|---|---|
| Option Fee | S$1 to S$1,000 | Sellers | No |
| Deposit (both fees) | Up to S$5,000 | Sellers | No |
| Resale application fee | S$40 or S$80 | HDB | Not stated |
| Cash Over Valuation | Price less value | Sellers | No |
| Title search | S$32 | Not stated | Not stated |
| Buyer's caveat | S$64.45 with GST | Not stated | Not stated |
HDB, Important Notes on the Option to Purchase (updated 7 September 2026); CPF Board explainers of 28 April and 12 June 2026. The application fee is S$40 for 1-room and 2-room flats and S$80 for larger flats.
The deposit is not an extra cost, since it forms part of the resale price, but it is cash paid weeks before any loan or CPF withdrawal. The fixed fees are small next to stamp duty: the application fee for a larger flat, the title search and the caveat add up to S$176.45, against S$15,600 of duty in the CPF Board's example.
Each party bears its own legal costs under clause 8.1 of the Terms and Conditions, and the buyer pays the Government Survey Fee, if there is one, when HDB asks for it. Stamp duty rates themselves are set by the Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore and are outside the scope of this guide.
Completion day
HDB's completion page says completion takes place about 8 weeks after HDB's acceptance of the resale application; the Important Notes put it as within 8 weeks, unless HDB extends it. Two rules frame that date. HDB will not bring the completion date forward, and a request to extend it must be made jointly by the sellers and the buyers.
Before the appointment, HDB's completion page asks three things of the buyer: inspect the flat with the sellers; buy fire insurance from HDB's appointed insurer if the purchase is financed with an HDB loan; and pay the balance of the purchase price and any outstanding stamp fees.
HDB gives notice of the completion appointment by SMS. According to the buying guide, the buyers bring their identity cards, the payment receipts or cashier's order and, where it applies, the fire insurance certificate. At the appointment a buyer with an HDB loan signs the mortgage document. The buyers then acknowledge receipt of the keys, pay the apportioned property tax to the sellers and state how they will pay the first month's service and conservancy charges.
The split of running costs follows the completion date exactly. Under clause 15.3(c) of the Terms and Conditions, the seller pays property tax and service and conservancy charges up to completion, and under clause 16.1 must produce evidence that the conservancy charges are paid up to that date. Under clause 29.1, the buyer pays all rates, taxes and charges imposed on the flat after it.
Possession changes on the same day and not before. Clause 16.3 requires the seller to give vacant possession on completion and says the seller cannot live in the flat once the keys are handed over; the buyer, for its part, cannot take possession earlier. Whether a seller may stay on for a time after completion under a separate HDB arrangement is not covered by the documents read for this guide.
Buyer beware: the state of the flat
The Terms and Conditions place the condition of the flat on the buyer. Under clauses 9.3 and 12.1, the flat is bought on a caveat emptor basis: the buyer accepts its state and condition and will not raise a requisition or an objection about it. The buyer is expected to check the flat and may engage a Qualified Person, at the buyer's own expense, to do so.
HDB's inspection is not a survey of the flat
Clause 9.1 of the Terms and Conditions says HDB's inspection looks for unauthorised renovation works that may damage HDB property. It does not assess the value of the flat or the quality or safety of the works. Under clause 12.2, disputes over defects are settled between the parties: HDB will not mediate.
Some matters do fall on the seller. Clause 9.2 requires the seller to regularise or remove unauthorised works before completion. Clause 10 deals with windows: where they do not meet the safety requirements, completion is held in abeyance until they are put right at the seller's expense, and the seller may owe interest for late completion.
Buyers who plan to renovate have to wait: clause 9.4 forbids any renovation work in the flat pending completion.
When a purchase stops
Not every option ends in a completion, and the cost of stopping rises at each stage.
| Stage | How it ends | Consequence for the buyer |
|---|---|---|
| Option Period | The buyer does not exercise by 4pm on the last day. | The option expires. Only the Option Fee is lost. |
| Before acceptance | Either party withdraws by written notice to HDB. | Administrative and valuation fees are not refunded. |
| After acceptance | HDB cancels on written confirmation from both parties. | Both parties pay stamp, conveyancing and other fees. |
| Any cancellation | The resale application is cancelled. | The HFE letter is cancelled too. A new one is needed. |
HDB, Important Notes on the Option to Purchase and Terms and Conditions of Sale and Purchase of an HDB Resale Flat, clauses 17.1 to 17.6, updated 7 September 2026.
Two clauses deserve attention beyond the table. Clause 17.7 says cancelling the application does not affect the parties' rights under the Option to Purchase: once the option is exercised there is a binding contract, and a party who walks away from it answers to the other party, not only to HDB. And clause 8.2 says that if the transaction fails, HDB cannot help the buyer recover the deposit and bears no liability for it. The deposit was paid directly to the sellers, and recovering it is a matter between the two sides.
The heaviest consequences are reserved for false information. The Important Notes state that giving false information about a sale or purchase is an offence under the Housing and Development Act 1959, punishable by a fine of up to S$5,000, imprisonment of up to 6 months, or both. HDB may also debar the person for 5 years from buying a flat, taking over a flat by transfer, being listed as a core family member or essential occupier, or taking an HDB loan, and any Intent to Sell or HFE letter the person holds is invalidated.
In an HDB resale the buyer's two real decisions come early: the price agreed in the option, and whether to exercise it once the value is known.